Here Come the Rain

by leahplotz

As Caroline Rose plays in the background “Here Come the Rain,” I smile at the coincidence of the timing. Today is the first real day to hint that autumn is on its way. The forecast says the next few days will be 22C, but today it is 17C (63F) with heavy clouds. There is no sign of it letting up today, either. They will hang heavy on our backs for the remainder of the day.

So this morning when it was a bit chillier, I was out doing errands when I kept passing by angry little Melbourne kids in strollers. Three babies/kids in particular who were ANGRY at the wooly caps on their heads. One tugged at it while crying at his mother. Another, I swear, rolled his eyes. The last one threw it on the ground and yelled at it. I know kids, I know: winter hats; what the eff?? I chose to be a bit stubborn in my sundress and sandals, the occasional chill running down my spine. Not yet, please! One more day! One more week!

I’ve been reviewing the odd show for a local online comedy magazine in conjunction with the Melbourne International Comedy Festival. It is such a huge production, and yet little ol’ Yawp has been able to keep up with shows, churning out reviews like nobody’s business. I’ve been to more…not-so-funny ones than funny ones, and I hate writing short reviews. But, it wasn’t funny; what else am I supposed to say? Better than saying it sucked. I love the attention comedy gets in this city and am happy tag along.

Autumn in Melbourne. I feel the change coming.

